Jet Ski Rentals in Destin FL
Destin's Fastest Wave Runners Available for Rent
If you’ve never before hit the waves on a Jet Ski, you’re missing out. There’s nothing else quite like the feeling of bounding over the waves, feeling the splash of salt water and sea breeze on your face. Whether your Jet Ski adventure is a high speed wave bouncing adventure on your Destin vacation, or a slower cruise to enjoy the emerald waters and white quartz beaches on a weekend or day off, the top of the line Jet Skis at Wet-N-Wild will make sure that you enjoy your time.
We have several different ways that you can enjoy the fun and freedom of a Jet Ski around Destin, and the sand bar that leads out to Crab Island:
Rent a Single Rider Jet Ski
Whether you’re on your own for your day in the sun, or you want to race your friends on the water, a single rider Jet Ski is the perfect way to make sure that everyone gets the ride they want. If you’re also organizing a boat cruise with Wet-N-Wild, we can organize bringing Jet Skis with us on your cruise, so that you can then use them to enjoy the waves when we’ve arrived.
Double the riders, double the fun
Another option with Wet-N-Wild’s Jet Ski rentals is to rent our double rider Jet Skis. For groups that have children under 14, or riders who would not be comfortable driving a Jet Ski on their own, the double Jet Ski is a perfect solution. This also allows you both to enjoy the experience of dancing over the waves and seeing the sights while reducing the overall cost of your trip.
Keep the Fun Safe
There are a few safety regulations that we maintain, in order to make sure that you enjoy your trip without any extra complications. Our Jet Skis have a maximum weight limit of 450lbs, spread out between all passengers. We don’t charge for extra riders, and some of our Jet Skis can carry two passengers along with their driver.
All of our Jet Skis also feature a kill cord. If someone falls off the Jet Ski, the cord ensures that the vehicle stops, and doesn’t leave you behind. Everyone on a Jet Ski will also be required to wear an approved personal flotation device (PFD) which we will provide. This makes sure that, if you fall off your Jet Ski, you stay safely afloat until you can get back onto the Jet Ski.
First Time on a Jet Ski? No problem!
Jet Skis are safe, fun, and family friendly. Our staff has lots of experience making sure that even the most inexperienced riders understand how to operate the Jet Ski before we set out, so you won’t get left behind. You’ll feel like an expert within minutes!
Our experts will also make sure that all riders who are under 25 years old go through the Boater’s Safety Course that is required by law. This makes sure that all riders in your group can enjoy the fun. Since we have both single and double Jet Skis available, older and more experienced riders have the ability to accompany those who are younger or less experienced, so that no one gets anxious about their ability on the water.
We offer a temporary certificate that is good for one year. The cost of the certificate is $3. If you would like to receive a permanent card, visit www.boatus.org for complete information on a boater’s safety course.
If you want to enjoy the fun of Jet Skis in Destin, Florida, call and make a reservation at Wet-N-Wild Watersports. Whether you want to zip around Destin Harbor, explore the sandbar around Crab Island, or enjoy a slow cruise around the emerald waters of the Gulf Coast of Florida, we’ll help you make it happen.
Call today to reserve one of our new model Jet Skis, and spice up your Destin vacation!
Book a Jet Ski Rental Now!
Rent one of the fastest jet skis in Destin. Availability highly limited.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I rent a jet ski?
Either visit our location on Destin Harbor, or call in advance to make a reservation. If you’re planning on booking a boat cruise as well, let us know! We can double up your booking so that you can bring your Jet Skis along with you on the cruise, giving your party more options to enjoy on their cruise.
Wait, is there a difference between WaveRunners and Jet Skis?
Both WaveRunners and Jet Skis are personal watercraft, or PWC. Think of it like motorcycles; both Harley and Yamaha are motorcycles, but you wouldn’t walk up to a Hell’s Angel and call his bike a Suzuki when it’s a Ducati. But any one of these brands is still a motorcycle. WaveRunners are made by Yamaha, and Jet Skis are made by Kawasaki. People often do use the terms interchangeably, but they are actually different. Our Jet Skis carry up to two passengers, or up to 450 lbs.
How fast can I go on a Jet Ski?
Jet Skis can hit up to 55 mph, depending on the weather, current, waves, and weight load on the machine. Of course, you don’t have to go that fast. One of the best parts about Jet Skis is that you can accelerate depending on your comfort levels. Jumping waves, turning circles, and catching air are excellent fun, no matter how fast you’re going.
Do I need a boater's license?
If your birthday was on or after January 1, 1988, you are required to have a boater’s license at the time of rental, for both our Jet Skis and our pontoon boats. If you don’t have one already, we’ll take you through a half hour safety class that will get you up to speed, then issue you a license.
Will you show me how to operate my Jet Ski?
Yes, we want to make sure you are comfortable and confident handling the machine before you head out onto the water. Jet Skis are simple to operate, but if this is the first time you’ve been on a Jet Ski, or even if you’re not familiar with our models, it’s a good idea to spend some time with our staff, making sure that you know which controls are where. Take your time getting comfortable; we don’t count it against your rental time.
What about the required Boating Safety class?
Because we don’t want the Boating Safety requirement to feel burdensome, we’ve made sure that it’s brief, straightforward, and held onsite. Our half hour safety course is simple, and won’t put a dent in your vacation. We’ll cover the basics of operating the machine, the “rules of the road” for open water, and basic safety information to keep you from running into trouble. We’ll schedule your safety course for just before you plan to take out the Jet Ski, so it won’t interrupt the rest of your adventure. We’ll then issue an official Boater Safety ID card, which is good for a year, and costs only $3. Just like any instruction time that you need before we take off, the time for the Boater Safety Course will not be considered against your rental time.
Can I take a passenger on a Jet Ski?
Our machines can handle as much as 450lbs, or around 204 kg each, so you can definitely double up with a passenger on your Jet Ski. Those under 14 years old can’t legally drive a Jet Ski, so the passenger spot might be ideal for kids 5-14, or those who are uncomfortable driving on their own.
Who can rent Jet Skis, and who can operate them?
- You have to be 18 years old or older to rent a Jet Ski.
- Each person who plans to operate a Jet Ski must bring photo ID, and complete the boater safety course before heading to the water.
- At the time of rental, anyone born on or after January 1, 1988, must have a boater’s license. If you don’t have one yet, we can issue one after you complete our half hour safety course. You have to be at least 15 years old to get a boater’s license. All 15 and 16 year olds must ride with a parent on the same jet ski. Those 17 year olds must have parental permission.
- Jet Ski operators under 21 must carry both a photo ID and a boating safety education certificate. We issue a one year certification for $3, or you can contact the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission to get a permanent card.
Florida State Regulations state that:
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boating safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.